a poem a day – allen ginsberg “improvisation in bejing”

Leave a comment
a poem a day

I write poetry because the English word Inspiration comes from Latin Spiritus, breath, I want to breathe freely. (…)

I write poetry because I suffer, born to die, kidneystones and high blood pressure, everybody suffers.

I write poetry because I suffer confusion not knowing what other people think.

I write poetry to make accurate picture my own mind. (…)

I write poetry because this morning I woke trembling with fear what could I say in China?

I write poetry because millionaires East and West ride Rolls-Royce limousines, poor people don’t have enough money to fix their teeth.(…)

I write poetry because I want to be alone and want to talk to people. (…)

I write poetry wearing animal shoe.

I write poetry because World War I, World War II, nuclear bomb, and World War III if we want it, I don’t need it.

I write poetry because Hitler killed six million Jews, I’m Jewish.

I write poetry because Moscow said Stalin exiled 20 million Jews and intellectuals to Siberia, 15 million never came back to the Stray Dog Café, St. Petersburg.

I write poetry because I sing when I’m lonesome.

I write poetry because Walt Whitman said, “Do I contradict myself? Very well then I contradict myself. (I am large, I contain multitudes.)” (…)

I write poetry because my head contains 10 000 thoughts.

I write poetry because no reason no because.

I write poetry because it’s the best way to say everything in mind within 6 minutes or a lifetime.

October 21, 1984

in – allen ginsberg:

COSMOPOLITAN GREETINGS. POEMS 1986-1992

“I’m going to try speaking some reckless words,

and I want you to try to listen recklessly.”

The Author

kulturalista

Leave a Reply

